Reviews

January 2016     Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General

“Karen Kaplan’s memoir "Descendants of Rajgród"  has moved me deeply. The author permits an intimate insight into her soul and the psychological burden that she has carried along as the daughter of a Holocaust survivor. She freely shares her family story, especially the difficult relationship with her father, embeds it into the history of the Jewish people constantly confronted with anti-semitism, and shows the reader in a carefully meditated way how she overcame her traumatization. Her private solution lies in forgiveness. Her effort of soul-searching is painful. Not everyone may come to the same conclusions. At any rate, reading her journey to freedom is inspiring and time well spent.”

Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General in Chicago

MAY 2016  I Highly Recommend "Descendants of Rajgrod!"

I read quite a bit of history and  I don't usually read memoirs. But I am so glad I read this... you wrote it from the heart, it was hard hitting and very honest. Forgiveness is one of the toughest subjects for people to deal with, because of the personal damage that the hurt that was inflicted leaves in its wake! We as humans know how to treat a wound on our body, first thing we learn is don't pick at it and we don't and it heals. The wound to our psyche we love to pick at because we don't want to the wound to heal. We have been wronged, our pride is at stake, we have been lied about and in most cases we don't want to forgive... Only the weak forgive, when in truth only the truly strong forgive and move on...... As a Priest friend said to me one time; Priests, Ministers and Rabbis spend more time helping people deal with their emotional problems then psychiatrists do, and it's cheaper! "LOL" ......... For those of you who have not read this book, "Descendants of Rajgrod" all I have to say is that this  is a special kind of book, of a journey down the road to forgiveness.  Highly recommend it!  - Robert Snow 

MAY 17, 2016 Review from Warsaw, Poland
Dear Karen,

APRIL 2018
on April 17, 2018
This was an amazing book. I read it non-stop from start to finish. This was last year, but I find myself still thinking about it, and that's rare for me, so I figured it was worth my writing this review.
It's a very personal story, but it's also as universal as could be. To me, the book is about how a horrible history, which seems so long-ago, not only permanently warped a young man but continued to cause acute pain to the man's descendants, 60 and 70 years later. Reading about how the author figured everything out was absolutely fascinating. It was also inspiring. This is a story about history, family, being a detective in your own life, and the necessity and challenges of forgiveness.

July 24, 2016

Lorna Cameron Tough .......I had always believed, Karen, that our bodies carried "our" trauma and I discussed with my therapist last week what you said in your interview and how I wondered whether I carried my father's ptsd. She was in agreement with you. Wake up calls galore for me so I am grateful to you for your validation of your own wounds. Namaste xx

FEBRUARY 2015     Rabbi Len Zukrow   

 While Karen Kaplan writes very personally of her journey – growing up as the child of a survivor, suffering from her father’s ill will toward her and the terror of a robbery she brings us to forgiveness – the most challenging of human behaviors and emotions. She brings us her story that ultimately becomes our story as we share through her forthright openness her lesson that forgiveness does have the power to overcome tragedy and heartbreak. Her presentation to our community was moving and powerful. A moment of transformation that all of us will long remember as we consider her story when we are called upon to forgive, repent, repair and move forward toward a life of purpose and meaning with kindness and generosity of spirit.

Rabbi Len Zukrow, Temple Beth El of Munster Indiana

MAY 18, 2016   A review from my speaking engagement at North Shore Senior Center

................We had a speaker yesterday who brought a message of forgiveness which was riveting and memorable. Karen L. Kaplan is the daughter of a Holocaust survivor who inflicted on his family the suffering he had experienced. She wrote and self-published her memoir of a traumatic life and her escape from the torments of untold millions of Jews over the millennia. Her journey into wellness was successful because she learned to forgive. An important theme of her story is the epigenetic effect of those centuries of evil oppression on the DNA of a people. If you don’t know Karen, get in touch with her. The healing message she brought us is one which will greatly bless the people at Trinity. She lives in Highland Park and her email is karenkaplan@att.net. Her webpage is www.KarenLKaplan.com. She is a compelling and articulate speaker who brings a message which all the world should hear. 

John F Swenson

August  2015    Ross Rosenberg,  Author and Best Seller of The Human Magnet Syndrome   Her journey of healing, reconciliation and forgiveness is moving testament of the human condition that distinctly reminds me of Victor Frankl's book "Man's Search for Meaning" and Elie Wiesel's "Night." Her triumph over overwhelming and seemingly impossible obstacles will inspire anyone who has been hurt by unspeakable trauma and wishes to make sense of it while healing from it. Because of her book I was able to forgive me own father and better understand my Jewish roots. I cannot recommend this book more highly.

This book with the help of my therapist helped me overcome the anger, resentment and hostility I had been holding onto my whole life. I would by lying if i said it "cured me" of it all, but the struggle I have with my darker feelings are more clear, specific, and not that of a hurt child (I had been carrying around).

I cannot recommend it more highly. More about Karen and her book: Descendants of Rajgrod:

Ross Rosenberg,   Author and Best Seller of The Human Magnet Syndrome

  • Rook Reviews

    JANUARY 2015   Rotary Member of Highland Park            I just finished reading DESCENDANTS OF RAJGROD last night and I was moved as well as inspired by the message…. your story and your viewpoint are making me evaluate my own perspective and approach.  I come from a passionate Italian-American family with its own tendency ...more

    View All

  • Navigation