Reviews

January 2016     Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General

“Karen Kaplan’s memoir "Descendants of Rajgród"  has moved me deeply. The author permits an intimate insight into her soul and the psychological burden that she has carried along as the daughter of a Holocaust survivor. She freely shares her family story, especially the difficult relationship with her father, embeds it into the history of the Jewish people constantly confronted with anti-semitism, and shows the reader in a carefully meditated way how she overcame her traumatization. Her private solution lies in forgiveness. Her effort of soul-searching is painful. Not everyone may come to the same conclusions. At any rate, reading her journey to freedom is inspiring and time well spent.”

Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General in Chicago

April 2015  A review from Greece
Dear karen,
what you went through  was not just a transformation. To me, it looks like a trip to hell. ........... Thank God you are back, alive and well. And thanks for sharing.
The book is not a simple memoir, in an era where pseudo-memoirs are in abudance. Your book is what I call in greek "katathesi phychis" or "soul submission" according to Google translation, though another exprssion such as "bare of soul" maybe more appropriate..........  
Txxxx
 
   
"Those who do not forgive are those who are least capable of changing the circumstances of their lives".

JANUARY 2015   Rotary Member of Highland Park            I just finished reading DESCENDANTS OF RAJGROD last night and I was moved as well as inspired by the message.... your story and your viewpoint are making me evaluate my own perspective and approach.  I come from a passionate Italian-American family with its own tendency to catalog and retain “transgressions”.  Coupled with being raised Catholic, through which we were always reminded that we were unworthy of those whose saintly suffering came before us, there’s a tendency to feel guilty or naïve about letting go of the past.

I cannot even begin to comprehend the brutality and hopelessness of your father’s childhood experiences.  I can appreciate how the circumstances created the man and I find his story inspiring yet tragic.

I can fathom how difficult it must have been for you to grow up amid the challenges related by the examples in your book.  That said, I apologize for appearing presumptuous enough to draw any parallels to my comparatively charmed upbringing.  Your message of forgiveness resonates with me.  Genuine forgiveness is about letting go of everything....and opening up my possibilities of greater things for my future.

Thank you so much for sharing your story and for writing the book.  I wish you nothing but peace and joy in your life.  I am sharing your book with my family and I want to thank you for inspiring me to go further and purer in my own personal and professional life.

Warmest regards,

Rotary Member of Highland Park

MAY 2016  I Highly Recommend "Descendants of Rajgrod!"

I read quite a bit of history and  I don't usually read memoirs. But I am so glad I read this... you wrote it from the heart, it was hard hitting and very honest. Forgiveness is one of the toughest subjects for people to deal with, because of the personal damage that the hurt that was inflicted leaves in its wake! We as humans know how to treat a wound on our body, first thing we learn is don't pick at it and we don't and it heals. The wound to our psyche we love to pick at because we don't want to the wound to heal. We have been wronged, our pride is at stake, we have been lied about and in most cases we don't want to forgive... Only the weak forgive, when in truth only the truly strong forgive and move on...... As a Priest friend said to me one time; Priests, Ministers and Rabbis spend more time helping people deal with their emotional problems then psychiatrists do, and it's cheaper! "LOL" ......... For those of you who have not read this book, "Descendants of Rajgrod" all I have to say is that this  is a special kind of book, of a journey down the road to forgiveness.  Highly recommend it!  - Robert Snow 

August  2015    Ross Rosenberg,  Author and Best Seller of The Human Magnet Syndrome   Her journey of healing, reconciliation and forgiveness is moving testament of the human condition that distinctly reminds me of Victor Frankl's book "Man's Search for Meaning" and Elie Wiesel's "Night." Her triumph over overwhelming and seemingly impossible obstacles will inspire anyone who has been hurt by unspeakable trauma and wishes to make sense of it while healing from it. Because of her book I was able to forgive me own father and better understand my Jewish roots. I cannot recommend this book more highly.

This book with the help of my therapist helped me overcome the anger, resentment and hostility I had been holding onto my whole life. I would by lying if i said it "cured me" of it all, but the struggle I have with my darker feelings are more clear, specific, and not that of a hurt child (I had been carrying around).

I cannot recommend it more highly. More about Karen and her book: Descendants of Rajgrod:

Ross Rosenberg,   Author and Best Seller of The Human Magnet Syndrome

MAY 17, 2016 Review from Warsaw, Poland
Dear Karen,

July 24, 2016

Lorna Cameron Tough .......I had always believed, Karen, that our bodies carried "our" trauma and I discussed with my therapist last week what you said in your interview and how I wondered whether I carried my father's ptsd. She was in agreement with you. Wake up calls galore for me so I am grateful to you for your validation of your own wounds. Namaste xx

  • Rook Reviews

    APRIL 2018 This was an amazing book. I read it non-stop from start to … ByJ. Goldmanon April 17, 2018 Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase This was an amazing book. I read it non-stop from start to finish. This was last year, but I find myself still thinking about it, and that’s rare for me, so I ...more

    View All

  • Navigation