Reviews

MAY 17, 2016 Review from Warsaw, Poland
Dear Karen,

MAY 2016  I Highly Recommend "Descendants of Rajgrod!"

I read quite a bit of history and  I don't usually read memoirs. But I am so glad I read this... you wrote it from the heart, it was hard hitting and very honest. Forgiveness is one of the toughest subjects for people to deal with, because of the personal damage that the hurt that was inflicted leaves in its wake! We as humans know how to treat a wound on our body, first thing we learn is don't pick at it and we don't and it heals. The wound to our psyche we love to pick at because we don't want to the wound to heal. We have been wronged, our pride is at stake, we have been lied about and in most cases we don't want to forgive... Only the weak forgive, when in truth only the truly strong forgive and move on...... As a Priest friend said to me one time; Priests, Ministers and Rabbis spend more time helping people deal with their emotional problems then psychiatrists do, and it's cheaper! "LOL" ......... For those of you who have not read this book, "Descendants of Rajgrod" all I have to say is that this  is a special kind of book, of a journey down the road to forgiveness.  Highly recommend it!  - Robert Snow 

July 11, 2016 The Cornelia Street Cafe with Karen Kaplan and Robin Hirsch

Interesting evening at Cornelia Street Cafe.....What brought my friend Renee and I to the Village was Karen Kaplan discussing her book about growing up in a family of Holocaust survivors & why forgiveness was crucial to "moving on and living a healthy, productive life.....And to the remnants of my extended family, who have risen from the ashes of the Holocaust, I say that I'm a work in progress & am ever hopeful that our current reality evolves.                 -S. Levin 

January 2016     Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General

“Karen Kaplan’s memoir "Descendants of Rajgród"  has moved me deeply. The author permits an intimate insight into her soul and the psychological burden that she has carried along as the daughter of a Holocaust survivor. She freely shares her family story, especially the difficult relationship with her father, embeds it into the history of the Jewish people constantly confronted with anti-semitism, and shows the reader in a carefully meditated way how she overcame her traumatization. Her private solution lies in forgiveness. Her effort of soul-searching is painful. Not everyone may come to the same conclusions. At any rate, reading her journey to freedom is inspiring and time well spent.”

Herbert Quelle,  German Consul General in Chicago

April 2015  A review from Greece
Dear karen,
what you went through  was not just a transformation. To me, it looks like a trip to hell. ........... Thank God you are back, alive and well. And thanks for sharing.
The book is not a simple memoir, in an era where pseudo-memoirs are in abudance. Your book is what I call in greek "katathesi phychis" or "soul submission" according to Google translation, though another exprssion such as "bare of soul" maybe more appropriate..........  
Txxxx
 
   
"Those who do not forgive are those who are least capable of changing the circumstances of their lives".

July 24, 2016

Lorna Cameron Tough .......I had always believed, Karen, that our bodies carried "our" trauma and I discussed with my therapist last week what you said in your interview and how I wondered whether I carried my father's ptsd. She was in agreement with you. Wake up calls galore for me so I am grateful to you for your validation of your own wounds. Namaste xx

FEBRUARY 2015     Rabbi Len Zukrow   

 While Karen Kaplan writes very personally of her journey – growing up as the child of a survivor, suffering from her father’s ill will toward her and the terror of a robbery she brings us to forgiveness – the most challenging of human behaviors and emotions. She brings us her story that ultimately becomes our story as we share through her forthright openness her lesson that forgiveness does have the power to overcome tragedy and heartbreak. Her presentation to our community was moving and powerful. A moment of transformation that all of us will long remember as we consider her story when we are called upon to forgive, repent, repair and move forward toward a life of purpose and meaning with kindness and generosity of spirit.

Rabbi Len Zukrow, Temple Beth El of Munster Indiana

  • Rook Reviews

    July 2, 2016 What a beautiful book you have written. Thank you for sharing your life and experiences. The relaxed, conversational prose pulled me right in. I felt as though I had met you and your family members because of the generous way you shared your stories. Although I was raised Catholic ( no longer ...more

    View All

  • Navigation